P&J welcomes “ICAN Nobel Peace Prize” Motion by Bill Kidd MSP

Edinburgh Peace & Justice Centre welcomes the Motion: “ICAN winners of Nobel Peace Prize” 2017 put down by Bill Kidd MSP and urges all MSPs to add their names to it.

Motion Number: S5M-08161  states: “That Parliament congratulates the International Campaign Against Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), on being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize 2017; notes that ICAN is a coalition of non-governmental organisations in 100 countries working to bring to an end what it believes to be the only weapon that poses an existential threat to all humanity, and pays tribute also to the survivors of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, who are known as the Hibakusha, for their part in achieving the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in 2017.”

Thus far the Motion has been signed by James Dornan, Joan McAlpine, Graeme Dey, Elaine Smith, Richard Lyle, Patrick Harvie, Clare Haughey, Christina McKelvie, Gillian Martin, Richard Lochhead, Gordon MacDonald, John Mason, Maree Todd, Andy Wightman, Kenneth Gibson, Stuart McMillan, Stewart Stevenson, Alex Rowley

The Edinburgh Peace & Justice Centre is one of  468 ICAN Affiliates worldwide and four in Scotland. We have long worked to promote nuclear disarmament and will continue to work hard here in Scotland for nuclear disarmament and for the implementation of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.


Share Button